Happy New Year! Thoughts on 2017.

IMG_0979

It was a fantastic and exhausting year for me. In 2017, I released three books in the Spies of Dragon and Chalk series. Night of the Chalk (the story which haunted my dreams the last five years), Rise of the Falsemarked, and Alliance of the Sunken. And then The Fire Eye Refugee hit Amazon a couple months ago. It’s been a wild ride.

I’m incredibly grateful for everyone who helped me out this year, those in my life who’ve lent me their time, support, and patience, and those I’ve met through writing and reading who have been generous enough to spend their time looking at my words…the ultimate act of kindness.

I’ve only got one “ask” in this email…if you’ve enjoyed any of the SDC books and feel up to leaving a review for the Boxed Set of Books 1-3, I would love to get a few more up there. Thank you kindly.

I hope you had an amazing and fulfilling 2017. Wishing you the best for 2018. As always, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at gatelysamuel@gmail.com with any questions or comments.

Thanks!
Sam

NOC awarded semi-finalist status in the SPFBO competition

Exciting news. The Night of the Chalk was recently awarded semi-finalist status in the brutally competitive Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off competition. You can read more about the competition here.

The book was nominated by the Fantasy Book Critic Blog, who provided a great review which included:

I want to read more of the intriguing world that Samuel Gately has created and he has marked himself out as a writer to watch out for. Night Of The Chalk is definitely a debut that I would recommend for those looking for something different than the usual cup of action fantasy tales.

Read the full review here and check out the Fantasy Book Critic’s other recommendations.

Fingers crossed that Night of the Chalk reaches the finals. We’ll learn soon. (and it’s still just $0.99)

The Fire Eye Refugee is Out!

The Fire Eye Refugee is just $0.99 for a limited time to celebrate its release and to thank everyone who nominated it for the Kindle Scout program. Get your copy today. Also available in paperback.

Fire Eye Cover - title crop

Official Blurb:

A spy must face her past or die in exile. 
As lanterns stream up towards the Fire Eye, a woman weaves through the crowd, eyes down. Kay is a fetch, a finder of lost children, and she’s been saddled with a case she couldn’t refuse. A child is missing among the refugees beyond the walls. Before she is found, Kay will face her past as an exile, the loyalties which divide her by heart and blood, and an enemy who would have his spy back on her leash or content himself to watch her hang. A killer has returned to the city, war looms, and, above it all, the Fire Eye hangs open, watching. 
A new adventure from the author of the thrilling Spies of Dragon and Chalk series, The Fire Eye Refugee is an epic fantasy that will appeal to readers of Scott Lynch, Daniel Polansky, and Leigh Bardugo.

Fire Eye Refugee up on Kindle Scout

The Fire Eye Refugee is up on the Kindle Scout program. Follow this link to take a gander. I’m appreciative of any nominations or other support. Thanks! This link will tell you more about the program. Cheers!

As lanterns stream up towards the Fire Eye, a woman weaves through the crowd, eyes down. Kay is a fetch, a finder of lost children, and she’s been saddled with a case she couldn’t refuse. A child is missing among the refugees beyond the walls. Before she is found, Kay will face her past as an exile, her divided loyalties, and an enemy who would have his spy back on her leash. Or watch her hang. A killer has returned to the city, war looms, and, above it all, the Fire Eye hangs open, watching.

Fire Eye Cover - High Resolution

 

New Spies short story

Hi All,

There’s a lot happening over the next couple days. Night of the Chalk (ebook version) will be free for a brief promotional period starting Wednesday 9/13 (tell your friends!) and I’ll be reducing Rise of the Falsemarked to $0.99. A great time to pick up a copy if you haven’t already.

To celebrate the occasion and the fact that the third SDC novel Alliance of the Sunken is up for preorder, I’ve written a new short story featuring the Spies of Dragon and Chalk.

The Hour of the Borhele is free when you sign up for the mailing list.

At the edge of the kingdoms, as a war is falling apart, a messenger arrives seeking the Spies of Dragon and Chalk. His unusual request may well launch them on a new adventure, but there is a war to clean up first.

HOB cover final crop

Get your free copy and enjoy!

Sam

Third Spies book up for preorder!

One of my favorite end-of-summer moments was getting the cover for the upcoming Spies of Dragon and Chalk novel (third one!) finished. Check it out. A new city to explore, a new mystery to solve, a new enemy to fear. Alliance of the Sunken is now up for preorder on Amazon. It drops November 15.

Allience of the Sunken - High Resolution - eBook

This is another illustration by the incomparable Tomasz Chistowski and typesetting by Humble Nations.

To celebrate I’ll be discounting Night of the Chalk and Rise of the Falsemarked next week. Grab a copy, leave a review, enjoy your Fall!

Sam

New books on the horizon.

A few exciting pieces of news I wanted to share.

Firstly, I entered Night of the Chalk in the Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off (SPFBO) competition to fight it out with a murderer’s row of talent. The overall contest is just warming up, but NOC cover received some love and made the finals of the cover competition, ultimately coming in at about #8 out of 300 (depending on how you tally the score). Read more about the overall contest here and the cover contest and results here. SPFBO is a great way to learn about new indie fantasy books.

Secondly, I’m entering final edits on what has been to date called Open, Fire-eye, Close (you may have seen the preview chapter at the end of Rise of the Falsemarked). The new working title is The Fire-Eye Refugee, and it is shaping up to be pretty kickass in my own humble opinion. A sidestep from The Spies of Dragon and Chalk series, but still fantasy steeped in intrigue. More tantalizing previews to come.

Thirdly and finally, I finished the first draft of the third Spies of Dragon and Chalk book Alliance of the Sunken. And then collapsed in a heap. This is only the first step in a long journey, but keep your eyes peeled for the continuing adventures of Aaron and Cal…as early as Fall 2017?

That’s all for now. Hope you are enjoying your Summer!

Thanks for reading,
Sam