A Fire Eye Giveaway, Q & A, and Words of Wisdom on Gormenghast

Three quick pieces of news. First, the wonderful Ink & Papercuts blog is hosting a giveaway of The Fire Eye Refugee. Registering to win a free copy of the ebook just requires a like and linking a friend through this Facebook link. And it’s a good time to read The Fire Eye Refugee because the release of the sequel The Fire Eye Chosen is approaching.

InkandPapercuts_FER

The blog will also host a Q&A with me, up shortly, so keep your eyes peeled.

Finally, I’ve got a guest blog post up there where I talk a bit about my writer’s journey, linking it all to one of my all-time favorite literary scenes from the book Gormenghast. Its ‘climate of sharp and dangerous breath’ helped launch me as a writer. The post also contains a hint about one of the three hidden elements in the cover to Night of the Chalk. Send me a note if you find it and I’ll give you a free copy or something. We’ll work it out.

Cheers. Enjoy. Be well.

Spies Boxed Set for Just $2.99

Hope you are well and enjoying the early signs of Spring. I wanted to let you know that The Spies of Dragon and Chalk series is bundled (ebook version) and wildly discounted. Just $2.99 (or £1.99) to get all three books for a limited time. Good opportunity to stock up.

SDC twitter ad 1

Also, I’m nearing completion on the first draft of The Fire Eye Chosen, sequel to The Fire Eye Refugee. Can’t wait to share it with you!

Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at gatelysamuel@gmail.com with any questions or comments.

Thanks!
Sam

Fire Eye Refugee Sale!

Fire Eye Cover - High ResolutionThe Fire Eye Refugee is on sale for a short time. Just $0.99 (£0.99)! 

I hope everyone has been enjoying their early 2018. I’m excited to announce this Fire Eye Refugee sale (for ebook only, paperback available at usual price) and I’m pleased to announce I’ve been making some great progress on a sequel to the book. It will be called The Fire Eye Chosen. Look for it in late Spring.

When The Fire Eye Chosen is ready for release, I’ll be putting out an exclusive opportunity for members of the mailing list to receive advanced review copies – meaning I’ll provide a free copy of the new ebook (or .pdf file) if you express your willingness to leave an honest review on Amazon or Goodreads. If you’re not already signed up for the mailing list, go for it.

I’ll provide more details, but just wanted to let you know in case you haven’t read The Fire Eye Refugee…now’s the time to do it! And I think you’ll like it.

In it, a spy must face her past or risk death in exile. Reviewers have called it “intense”, “a nice mix of fantasy, magic, and imperfect characters”, “well-written and entertaining”, and other nice stuff.

If you’ve already read FER, you can always catch up on the Spies of Dragon and Chalk series. Or read Kings of the Wyld. That book is amazing. You’ll thank me later.

Cheers.

Happy New Year! Thoughts on 2017.

IMG_0979

It was a fantastic and exhausting year for me. In 2017, I released three books in the Spies of Dragon and Chalk series. Night of the Chalk (the story which haunted my dreams the last five years), Rise of the Falsemarked, and Alliance of the Sunken. And then The Fire Eye Refugee hit Amazon a couple months ago. It’s been a wild ride.

I’m incredibly grateful for everyone who helped me out this year, those in my life who’ve lent me their time, support, and patience, and those I’ve met through writing and reading who have been generous enough to spend their time looking at my words…the ultimate act of kindness.

I’ve only got one “ask” in this email…if you’ve enjoyed any of the SDC books and feel up to leaving a review for the Boxed Set of Books 1-3, I would love to get a few more up there. Thank you kindly.

I hope you had an amazing and fulfilling 2017. Wishing you the best for 2018. As always, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at gatelysamuel@gmail.com with any questions or comments.

Thanks!
Sam

NOC awarded semi-finalist status in the SPFBO competition

Exciting news. The Night of the Chalk was recently awarded semi-finalist status in the brutally competitive Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off competition. You can read more about the competition here.

The book was nominated by the Fantasy Book Critic Blog, who provided a great review which included:

I want to read more of the intriguing world that Samuel Gately has created and he has marked himself out as a writer to watch out for. Night Of The Chalk is definitely a debut that I would recommend for those looking for something different than the usual cup of action fantasy tales.

Read the full review here and check out the Fantasy Book Critic’s other recommendations.

Fingers crossed that Night of the Chalk reaches the finals. We’ll learn soon. (and it’s still just $0.99)

The Fire Eye Refugee is Out!

The Fire Eye Refugee is just $0.99 for a limited time to celebrate its release and to thank everyone who nominated it for the Kindle Scout program. Get your copy today. Also available in paperback.

Fire Eye Cover - title crop

Official Blurb:

A spy must face her past or die in exile. 
As lanterns stream up towards the Fire Eye, a woman weaves through the crowd, eyes down. Kay is a fetch, a finder of lost children, and she’s been saddled with a case she couldn’t refuse. A child is missing among the refugees beyond the walls. Before she is found, Kay will face her past as an exile, the loyalties which divide her by heart and blood, and an enemy who would have his spy back on her leash or content himself to watch her hang. A killer has returned to the city, war looms, and, above it all, the Fire Eye hangs open, watching. 
A new adventure from the author of the thrilling Spies of Dragon and Chalk series, The Fire Eye Refugee is an epic fantasy that will appeal to readers of Scott Lynch, Daniel Polansky, and Leigh Bardugo.

Fire Eye Refugee up on Kindle Scout

The Fire Eye Refugee is up on the Kindle Scout program. Follow this link to take a gander. I’m appreciative of any nominations or other support. Thanks! This link will tell you more about the program. Cheers!

As lanterns stream up towards the Fire Eye, a woman weaves through the crowd, eyes down. Kay is a fetch, a finder of lost children, and she’s been saddled with a case she couldn’t refuse. A child is missing among the refugees beyond the walls. Before she is found, Kay will face her past as an exile, her divided loyalties, and an enemy who would have his spy back on her leash. Or watch her hang. A killer has returned to the city, war looms, and, above it all, the Fire Eye hangs open, watching.

Fire Eye Cover - High Resolution

 

New Spies short story

Hi All,

There’s a lot happening over the next couple days. Night of the Chalk (ebook version) will be free for a brief promotional period starting Wednesday 9/13 (tell your friends!) and I’ll be reducing Rise of the Falsemarked to $0.99. A great time to pick up a copy if you haven’t already.

To celebrate the occasion and the fact that the third SDC novel Alliance of the Sunken is up for preorder, I’ve written a new short story featuring the Spies of Dragon and Chalk.

The Hour of the Borhele is free when you sign up for the mailing list.

At the edge of the kingdoms, as a war is falling apart, a messenger arrives seeking the Spies of Dragon and Chalk. His unusual request may well launch them on a new adventure, but there is a war to clean up first.

HOB cover final crop

Get your free copy and enjoy!

Sam

Third Spies book up for preorder!

One of my favorite end-of-summer moments was getting the cover for the upcoming Spies of Dragon and Chalk novel (third one!) finished. Check it out. A new city to explore, a new mystery to solve, a new enemy to fear. Alliance of the Sunken is now up for preorder on Amazon. It drops November 15.

Allience of the Sunken - High Resolution - eBook

This is another illustration by the incomparable Tomasz Chistowski and typesetting by Humble Nations.

To celebrate I’ll be discounting Night of the Chalk and Rise of the Falsemarked next week. Grab a copy, leave a review, enjoy your Fall!

Sam