The Fire Eye Refugee is just $0.99 for a limited time to celebrate its release and to thank everyone who nominated it for the Kindle Scout program. Get your copy today. Also available in paperback.

Fire Eye Cover - title crop

Official Blurb:

A spy must face her past or die in exile. 
As lanterns stream up towards the Fire Eye, a woman weaves through the crowd, eyes down. Kay is a fetch, a finder of lost children, and she’s been saddled with a case she couldn’t refuse. A child is missing among the refugees beyond the walls. Before she is found, Kay will face her past as an exile, the loyalties which divide her by heart and blood, and an enemy who would have his spy back on her leash or content himself to watch her hang. A killer has returned to the city, war looms, and, above it all, the Fire Eye hangs open, watching. 
A new adventure from the author of the thrilling Spies of Dragon and Chalk series, The Fire Eye Refugee is an epic fantasy that will appeal to readers of Scott Lynch, Daniel Polansky, and Leigh Bardugo.

The Fire Eye Refugee is up on the Kindle Scout program. Follow this link to take a gander. I’m appreciative of any nominations or other support. Thanks! This link will tell you more about the program. Cheers!

As lanterns stream up towards the Fire Eye, a woman weaves through the crowd, eyes down. Kay is a fetch, a finder of lost children, and she’s been saddled with a case she couldn’t refuse. A child is missing among the refugees beyond the walls. Before she is found, Kay will face her past as an exile, her divided loyalties, and an enemy who would have his spy back on her leash. Or watch her hang. A killer has returned to the city, war looms, and, above it all, the Fire Eye hangs open, watching.

Fire Eye Cover - High Resolution

 

Hi All,

There’s a lot happening over the next couple days. Night of the Chalk (ebook version) will be free for a brief promotional period starting Wednesday 9/13 (tell your friends!) and I’ll be reducing Rise of the Falsemarked to $0.99. A great time to pick up a copy if you haven’t already.

To celebrate the occasion and the fact that the third SDC novel Alliance of the Sunken is up for preorder, I’ve written a new short story featuring the Spies of Dragon and Chalk.

The Hour of the Borhele is free when you sign up for the mailing list.

At the edge of the kingdoms, as a war is falling apart, a messenger arrives seeking the Spies of Dragon and Chalk. His unusual request may well launch them on a new adventure, but there is a war to clean up first.

HOB cover final crop

Get your free copy and enjoy!

Sam

One of my favorite end-of-summer moments was getting the cover for the upcoming Spies of Dragon and Chalk novel (third one!) finished. Check it out. A new city to explore, a new mystery to solve, a new enemy to fear. Alliance of the Sunken is now up for preorder on Amazon. It drops November 15.

Allience of the Sunken - High Resolution - eBook

This is another illustration by the incomparable Tomasz Chistowski and typesetting by Humble Nations.

To celebrate I’ll be discounting Night of the Chalk and Rise of the Falsemarked next week. Grab a copy, leave a review, enjoy your Fall!

Sam

A few exciting pieces of news I wanted to share.

Firstly, I entered Night of the Chalk in the Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off (SPFBO) competition to fight it out with a murderer’s row of talent. The overall contest is just warming up, but NOC cover received some love and made the finals of the cover competition, ultimately coming in at about #8 out of 300 (depending on how you tally the score). Read more about the overall contest here and the cover contest and results here. SPFBO is a great way to learn about new indie fantasy books.

Secondly, I’m entering final edits on what has been to date called Open, Fire-eye, Close (you may have seen the preview chapter at the end of Rise of the Falsemarked). The new working title is The Fire-Eye Refugee, and it is shaping up to be pretty kickass in my own humble opinion. A sidestep from The Spies of Dragon and Chalk series, but still fantasy steeped in intrigue. More tantalizing previews to come.

Thirdly and finally, I finished the first draft of the third Spies of Dragon and Chalk book Alliance of the Sunken. And then collapsed in a heap. This is only the first step in a long journey, but keep your eyes peeled for the continuing adventures of Aaron and Cal…as early as Fall 2017?

That’s all for now. Hope you are enjoying your Summer!

Thanks for reading,
Sam